2019 Canberra GIANTS Team Announced

Canberra GIANTS are excited to name their 2019 Deakin University Australian Netball League (DUANL) team and reserves.

This year the Canberra GIANTS team will consist of 12 athletes, a combination of four GIANTS Netball training partners, four Netball ACT squad athletes and four Netball NSW squad athletes. In a new and important addition, a Canberra GIANTS Reserves group will be named with ten additional athletes. The Canberra GIANTS Reserves will remain within the Canberra GIANTS program and will provide identification of suitable player support should a temporary or permanent replacement be required throughout the playing season.

The highly competitive DUANL is an important feeder competition for the Suncorp Super Netball (SSN) and provides a strong development pathway for players into national teams. It also provides a platform for coaches and development staff to identify and nurture new and upcoming talent into vital national programs.

The Canberra GIANTS will be looking to build upon the success of the 2018 season, in which they narrowly missed taking the Premiership.

Melinda Clarke, Head Coach of the Canberra GIANTS said of the team selection and 2019 season “I am extremely excited to be part of this joint venture in 2019. The DUANL is a great platform for the athletes to showcase their skills and continue to develop their netball careers. The Canberra GIANTS have a great track record of preparing athletes to take the step into the Suncorp Super Netball environment. I have been really impressed with the talent in Canberra GIANTS squad from both the NSW and ACT pathways and I am confident that we can continue to build on the success of the Canberra GIANTS in 2019.”
The Deakin University Australian Netball League will commence Round 1 in May 2019.


2019 Canberra GIANTS Team
Toni Anderson* Sutherland Shire Netball Association
Amber Brophy Tuggeranong Netball Association
Eliza Burton Arawang Netball Association
Georgia Clayden Arawang Netball Association
Taylah Davies Eastwood Ryde Netball Association
Maddy Eaton Sutherland Shire Netball Association
Angelina Frketic Baulkham Hills Netball Association
Maddie Hay* Sutherland Shire Netball Association
Georgia Marshall* Manly-Warringah Netball Association
Keely Rodrigo Tuggeranong Netball Association
Kara Styles St George District Netball Association
Latika Thombs* Manly-Warringah Netball Association
*Denotes GIANTS Netball Training Partner

2019 Canberra GIANTS Reserves
Georgia Cottle Northern Suburbs Netball Association
Holly Hancox Tuggeranong Netball Association
Grace Hill Canberra Netball Association
Nakita Jackson Newcastle Netball Association
Nalani Makunde Canberra Netball Association
Annabelle Marshall South Canberra Netball Association
Annie Miller Manly-Warringah Netball Association
Amy Sligar Camden & District Netball Association
Natalie Sligar Camden & District Netball Association
Rhiannon Stokes Newcastle Netball Association

2019 Canberra GIANTS Program Staff
Head Coach Melinda Clarke
Assistant Coach Rebecca Bulley
Team Manager Jill White
Physiotherapist Adrian Tocchet
Performance Analyst Krystle Tate