Netball ACT announce 2018 ACT State Team Coaching Team


Today Netball ACT announced the coaching team that will represent and lead the ACT at the 2018 National Netball Championships.

Tara Steel will head up the 19 and Under ACT State Team, while Kim Symons returns as Head Coach for the 17 and Under State Team.

Each year, Australia’s best young netball talent has the opportunity to represent their respective state or territory at the National Netball Championships. The 2018 National Netball Championships will be held in April and is located in Adelaide.

Talent and Performance Manager, Nicole Bowles congratulates all involved “On behalf of Netball ACT I would like to congratulate all State Team Program Staff on their appointments. There is a great mix of experience and new National Campaign Coaches and Managers across both the 19’s and 17’s.”

“All of the coaches have come through the ACT coaching pathway and have a great understanding of athletes within and progressing through the ACT athlete pathway. National Netball Championships provides ACT athletes with a great platform to showcase their talents equally allowing our coaches to shine, furthering their coaching experiences and knowledge both on and off the court.”









19 and Under

–          Head Coach: Tara Steel

–          Assistant Coach: Lauren George

–          Apprentice Coach: Alex Kellar

–          Manager: Ruth Bock


17 and Under

–          Head Coach: Kim Symons

–          Assistant Coach: Lyndsey Simcoe

–          Apprentice Coach: Heidi Prowse

–          Manager: Rebecca Morrison


Netball ACT wish all of the coaches the very best as they undergo the 2018 State Team selection process.

A reminder that athlete nominations are still open for athletes that wish to be selected into the teams. The primary objective of the ACT 19s and Under and ACT 17s and Under State Teams is to provide a high performance culture for athletes to maximise and develop their full potential by identifying and selecting up to twelve (12) eligible athletes for each of the Teams capable of achieving success at the National Netball Championships.


Athlete nominations will close Friday 20 October 2017 – click here to access