Arawang Division 3 Premiers Canterbury State League

The Division 3 Grand Final between Arawang and South Canberra was a hard fought match, which saw the lead change several times throughout the game.  Arawang were aiming for an unprecedented 7th Premiership in a row, however South Canberra were not going to let them achieve this easily.


Goal Shooters for South Canberra Lauren Thomas and Arawangs Bethany Woodstock were rock solid for their respective teams both shooting in the 90% and the major volume to goal.


Arawang took the early lead into the first quarter with a 13 – 10 margin, however South Canberra came out firing in the second quarter with an impressive defensive effort, to create ball for Lauren Thomas to convert 8 out of their 16 goals for the quarter and to take a 1 point lead into half time.


Both teams continued to swing changes in their midcourt to find the connections they needed for the third quarter, however the defensive efforts of GK Katrina Williams and GD Hannah Ferguson proved the turning point for Arawang to go into the final quarter with a 5 goals lead 37 – 32.


South Canberra continued to challenge Arawang in the final quarter, but to no avail, which Arawang held strong, and won the game and their 7th Premiership in a row with the final score being 48 – 44.