Canterbury State League | Round 1 results

Friday 4 May saw the start of the 2018 Canterbury State League, which has Canberra’s six netball Districts, plus Queanbeyan compete in the competition.

Defending Champions Tuggeranong defeated Belconnen 53 to 39. Tuggeranong announced ahead of Round 1 that shooter Jo Pivac has been ruled out for the season with a foot injury. Shooters Sophie Immonen, Amber Brophy and new recruit Estelle Margetts did not disappoint, taking opportunities to extend the lead for their District.

All eyes were on Tuggeranong mid-courter Michaley Phokos who returned to the game after major hip and knee injuries in 2016.

Phokos reflected on her return to the game “it was great to be out there and get the win. We lost Pivac but we have gone back to the drawing board. The shooters put the shots in, and it showed on the scoreboard” Phokos said.

In other games Arawang flew out of the blocks, with four unanswered goals in the first minute, extending to a nine goal lead at quarter time. Queanbeyan closed the gap to five goals at half time, but Arawang proved too strong.

It was a close game between Canberra and South Canberra, with South Canberra taking an early lead. The scores were tied during the third quarter, with Canberra just holding them off with a final score of 49 to 44.


Round 1 | DIV 1 RESULTS

Canberra defeated South Canberra 49 to 44

Arawang defeated Queanbeyan 58 to 47

Tuggeranong defeated Belconnen 53 to 39



Canberra defeated South Canberra 51 to 36
Tuggernong defeated Belconnen 52 to 39
Arawang defeated Queanbeyan 64 to 21



South Canberra defeated Canberra 44 to 31 
Arawang defeated Goulburn 62 to 25 
Tuggeranong defeated Belconnen 46 to 41