Netball ACT History

Netball commenced in Australia at the start of the 20th century but it wasn’t until the 1940’s that players were first registered in Canberra under the ACT Women’s Basket Ball Association, as the sport was referred to then.

The creation of Canberra Netball Association (CNA) and South Canberra Netball Association (SCNA), to accommodate increasing participation.

At the time netball was played at various locations around Canberra including Telopea Park High School, Acton Flats, two different locations in Turner and also at Southwell Park in Lyneham.

CNA and SCNA were instrumental in developing a peak body for netball in the ACT with the formation of the ACT Netball Association (Netball ACT).

Full membership of Netball ACT was granted to the Belconnen Netball Association (BNA), who operated from Charnwood.

Also, in 1975 the All Australian Netball Association Ltd (Netball Australia), admitted Netball ACT as a member organisation and as such became the peak governing body for Netball in the ACT.

Arawang Netball Association (ANA) also became a member organisation of Netball ACT. ANA operated from headquarters in Stirling.

The fifth association to become a member organisation of Netball ACT in 1985, was Tuggeranong (TNA), who operated from Kambah

TNA moved their base to Calwell.

The headquarters of Netball ACT have been located at the Solarhub Netball Centre, Southwell Park in Lyneham since 1990 this continues as their base of operations today.

Netball in the ACT has a rich history of pioneers and achievements that have been chronicled in the book “NETBALL ACT – The History 1975-2000”.